Strainer as a gate post?

pencoed

I'm new to fencing and will be working with a local contractor to install and 800 metre deer fence. We are using chestnut posts and strainers with tornado wire. I need to put three gates at different positions to access woodland and the road. Can I use a strainer as a gate post, fixing the fence one side and the gate the other? 

In America, it is standard to hang gates from a braced strainer. In our soil and freeze/thaw conditions, a gate hung from an unbraced post would would sag to the ground in no time. It is very rare to see a separate gate post here. Our situation is different from yours, so I'll defer to the local experts.

I wouldn’t if the decision  was mine however I have been overruled by the customer in the past and done it.

Was at a job I did 9 years ago and the gate was fixed as you describe and if I am honest nothing has been compromised. 

Thanks Red Stag, was the strainer braced with a strut? 

In America, it is standard to hang gates from a braced strainer. In our soil and freeze/thaw conditions, a gate hung from an unbraced post would would sag to the ground in no time. It is very rare to see a separate gate post here. Our situation is different from yours, so I'll defer to the local experts.

That's interesting. How do you brace the strainer? with a strut going down into ground?

As Brent will agree, up here 90% of all gates are usually tied! Or hung direct from the strainer of the fence line.

Sorry mooresoft. Up here it means buying two more strainers which are more expensive, so whilst yes it should not be done it is common practice here and I've nevcnevcer found it an issue yet.

I hasten to add the strainers are stayed.

Just not a fan of it. In wet fields sliding through a gatepost happens. If all you have to replace is a post it's easy, snap an end post off a strained fence line and it's a bigger issue.