how much staff do you have?

premnayloon

Started with just me and the odd part timer 18 years ago worked up to 7 guys at about mid way point the. Started to realise we were paying more in wages than realy making money and I never had time to actually do any fencing myself as spent most of my time running around in circles sorting everyone out, so now full circle just me and Ian out fencing and my wife and another lass run the supply shop that's evolved at the yard over the last few years.. Alls good and far less stressful ..

When i started fencing when i was younger, the fellow that tought me built his company up and by the time i left he had about 20 odd working for him but it seemed like the was no real pride in the job anymore it was all about high output. I work on my own as im only starting out but have a slef employed mate that gives me a chuck when im pulling my hair out.

Pride in work and high output is all down to the standards and quality control set by the management, we all go to work to make money. The better the management the better the standard and quality of work and the higher the output resulting in a profitable business. unfortunately we all get older and the body becomes knackerd . You cant do the job for ever even if you enjoy it and want to, We can all run around being busy fools, sometimes if you are not actually doing the day to day job you can step back and manage the business , run it as you want to, you know how long it takes to do a job remembering your standards and that YOU ARE THE BOSS !!

The guy I learned from has taught me to be fussy, always cut off the tails of termination/ joining knots, he would even demand that the staples were on the middle of the posts, unless a knot got in the way

He maintained that if a fence looked tidy then it meant there was less chance of someone going around it looking for flaws